Sponsor a Child Today & Help Change a Life

26,000 children die every day due to preventable causes. 26,000? Really? That is really hard to wrap my mind around.

Some other alarming statistics:

  • Every five seconds a child dies to hunger.
  • Every fifteen seconds a child dies due to a water related disease.
  • 15 million children have been orphaned due to the HIV/AIDS crisis.
  • Every other child that is born is born into poverty. (UNICEF State of the World’s Children Report)

These are heart-wrenching facts.

The good news is that we have the opportunity to help…

I recently felt called to become a volunteer Child Ambassador for World Vision, which means that I am seeking out opportunities to share their child sponsorship program with people and get children sponsored. Growing up my parents sponsored a child through Compassion. They wrote the checks and I wrote the letters to the girl. Now, as an adult, Cason & I have been sponsoring a girl in Guatemala since May and it has been a wonderful experience. I know that we are helping provide her with opportunities that she may not otherwise get. Just last week, we got a letter, written on her behalf from her brother. Part of it said that she was going to hang the stickers we sent her in the house so she could remember us always. It was really sweet. I admit that I don’t remember to pray for her as often as I should. It was a good reminder that we need to be doing that. Anyway…

Why Are We Called to Help?

The following are all quotes taken from The Hole in Our Gospel, the book by Richard Stearns (current President of World Vision). This has become one of my favorite books ever and will eventually get a post of its own. But for now, here are some of my favorite quotes from early on in the book. Quotes that I found very challenging personally:

“What does God expect of us?… God asks for everything. He requires a total life commitment from those who would be His followers.”

“And if Jesus was willing to die for this troubled planet, maybe I need to care about it too. Maybe I should love the people who live in it more. Maybe I have a responsibility to do my part to love the world that Jesus loves so much.”

“If your personal faith in Christ has no positive outward expression, then your faith – and mine – has a hole in it.”

“Living out our faith privately was never mean to be an option.”

“What if each of us decided with renewed commitment to truly embrace the good news, the whole gospel, and demonstrate it through our lives – not even in big ways, but in small ones? What is we each said to God, ‘Use me; I want to change the world’?”

“Let my heart be broken by the things that break the heart of God.” –Bob Pierce (founder of World Vision)

What is Required of a Sponsor?

All it takes is $35 a month. That $35 a month can help provide a child with clean water, nutritious food, health care, educational opportunities, & spiritual nurturing.  It ends up being a little over $1 a day that can change a child’s life and help transform entire communities. As a sponsor, you also commit to pray for the child and you have the opportunity to send them letters, cards, photos, etc. They will write you back in return and you get the privilege of developing a relationship with them. It is a very special thing.

Who is World Vision?

World Vision is a Christian humanitarian charity organization dedicated to working with children, families, and their communities worldwide to reach their full potential by tackling the causes of poverty and injustice. World Vision works in nearly 100 countries. The millions of people they serve include earthquake and hurricane survivors, abandoned and exploited children, survivors of famine and civil war, refugees, and children and families in communities devastated by AIDS in Africa, Asia, and Latin America.

Please let me know if you would like to sponsor a child, or if you know of an opportunity at a church, event, or with a group that I can come present to.

I will write more about this later…

One thought on “Sponsor a Child Today & Help Change a Life

  1. Karen,
    I just wanted to say that I am so proud of you for following your heart and speaking up for the injustice. You are making a difference in so many lives with this “gig”. Your fire inspires me and I am very happy and proud to sponser Nery. Thanks for bringing him into our lives!
    Lisa

Leave a Comment Here

