Wishing for a Do-Over (Thinking Again about Haiti)

I found myself recently wishing for a do-over on our Haiti mission trip from this last summer. I don’t know what it is. It was a great week, that’s for sure. I think we accomplished a lot for only really having 5 days to work. But it was so short and I find myself wishing we could go back and do more.

It was almost unbearably hot and that greatly handicapped us. We’d have to take a lot of breaks.

There were certain tasks we couldn’t do, and so we’d have to wait on the head construction guys often before we could join back in. A lot of waiting.

We had major language barriers and so couldn’t communicate in the ways we wished we could.

But…

I wish I could go back and work harder, work longer, get more done for those people with so much need.

I wish I would have jumped in more with initiating interaction with the children that would gather around.

I wish we could have gotten more personally involved with the adults nearby – heard their stories, prayed for & with them.

I wish we could have had more meaningful conversations with the neighbors who may not know Christ and who may be more open than ever.

You can do anything for a week – eat strange foods, get less hours of sleep, do construction with no previous experience, work in 115 degree temperatures with high humidity. You can push yourself to the limit. And it is still over in the blink of an eye. Looking back, it seems like nothing. Vapor in the wind perhaps.

I wish I could go back and do more, give more of myself, leave it all on the field.

But, we don’t get do-overs.

Since we can’t go back in time, all I can do is to move forward and try to live intentionally. To seize the opportunities placed before me to help others around me. To get involved in other people’s lives and get my hands dirty.

I’ve been doing a pretty lousy job at that lately. I just wanted to confess that and say that I’m going to try and do better.

Can anyone else relate?

One thought on “Wishing for a Do-Over (Thinking Again about Haiti)

  1. Karen, first of all, I’m inspired by your candidness here. Secondly, even when you feel like you’re not doing as much as you should, you are still such an awesome example to those of us around you. Even when you feel like you’re not in action, you are, because people know your heart and know that you’re passionate about helping people, and that makes the rest of us passionate, too! 🙂 Keep on, my friend!

Leave a Comment Here

