Feeling Restless

Have you ever felt restless? Like something just wasn’t right or something was missing, but you couldn’t put your finger on it?

I have. And when it happens, it’s something that I really can’t quite figure out.

I have a wonderful husband, a great family, good friends, and a good job. I try to do good things (& always ought to strive to do more).

But sometimes that feeling creeps in. I feel a little lonely, a little discombobulated. Restless.

A couple months ago I stumbled upon a post by Sheila Walsh that described exactly what I had been feeling but couldn’t figure out. She hit the nail on the head, and it has stayed with me.

Read her post “Restless” here.

She describes this restlessness as “a sacred ache, an ancient longing” that points us continually to Christ, and that it won’t go away “until we make it all the way home”. It tells us “that home is what we’re made for”. Like a constant reminder.

To me… this makes complete sense. And I find it comforting.

Do you get restless? What do you think about this idea?

3 thoughts on “Feeling Restless

  1. Restless for home! Ah, yes 🙂 A nice reminder that this place & everything in it is so temporary. Its when i’m not restless and quite comfortable that I start getting worried. Thanks for this, friend!

  2. Pingback: Embracing 2012 « Live.Love.Serve.

Leave a Comment Here

