Focusing on the Present

More than any other time I can remember, I feel like I’m being taught a lesson on living in the present. It has almost become a theme, popping up everywhere I turn. When that happens, I can’t help but stop, take notice, and hope to learn something from it.

For various reasons, and through various circumstances, I am being taught that I cannot worry about what tomorrow will bring. Because honestly, we don’t know. Anything could happen tomorrow.

There have been some days recently when all I had the capacity for was to figure out what I had to do today, and then do it. I couldn’t handle thinking about what the next day would bring. I was at capacity.

In some ways, it has been a refreshing lesson. I am pretty sure, in a sense, this is how God wants us to live.

So do not worry about tomorrow. Let tomorrow worry about itself. Living faithfully is a large enough task for today.” Matthew 6:34 (The Voice)

This is hard for me. I am a natural-born planner, a perfectionist, and I may or may not like to feel in control of my circumstances. So right now, I’m learning to do the opposite, and it’s a challenge.

But on the other hand, I have found myself less burdened with worry (depending on the day). More intentional on working on relationships – with family, friends, husband, etc (some days are better than others). Desiring to live each day to the full (notice that I didn’t say I’m there yet, but I have the desire to do it).

Then, out of nowhere, this was my reading from Jesus Calling on Friday:

“I want you to live this day abundantly, seeing all there is to see, doing all there is to do. Don’t be distracted by future concerns. Leave them to Me! Each day of life is a glorious gift, but so few people know how to live within the confines of today. Much of their energy for abundant living spills over the time line into tomorrow’s worries or past regrets. Their remaining energy is sufficient only for limping through the day, not for living it to the full. I am training you to keep your focus on My Presence in the present. This is how to receive abundant Life, which flows freely from My throne of grace.” -Jesus Calling, September 30th

Perfect.

I’ll be attending (& running promotions for The Voice Bible at) the Catalyst conference this Wed-Fri. The theme… “Be Present“. Not sure what that will entail yet, but I do love when God speaks to us in themes, don’t you?

2 thoughts on “Focusing on the Present

Leave a Comment Here

