Spring is Here

Spring is definitely here, and I’m not talking about the weather or the time of year. I’m talking about this season of life. About 9 months ago I wrote a post called Embracing This Season. (click the title to read it in a new window) God had been speaking to me in themes, about the different seasons of life. We had been feeling really restless, like we were in a state of limbo, not sure of where we were supposed to be, or what we were supposed to be doing. We knew that God was preparing us for something. We just didn’t know what or when.

We were definitely in winter. It was our time to be still, to focus on the tasks at hand, and to prepare for what might be ahead. I wrote: “We want to be ready when the time comes to move into spring and for whatever new growth opportunities God gives us.

To help explain, here are the seasons of life, in a nutshell…
Spring = a time of growth & new beginnings. Exciting & maybe challenging.
Summer = the busy season of toiling & working hard, yet enjoying the sunshine.
Fall = the harvest; a time for celebration.
Winter = a time to be still/quiet, for preparation & nourishment.

Well, winter is gone and spring is definitely here. We took a leap of faith and have been catapulted into a completely new life. Spring, as a season of life, is categorized as new beginnings, new growth. Everything about our life is consumed with new beginnings right now. New jobs, new home, new people, new surroundings to explore. There’s the search for a new church, new friends, new places to serve.

It’s an exciting time, filled with all sorts of new possibilities. But it’s not without major challenges too. I’m personally being challenged and stretched more than I ever have been professionally. I’ve never worked this hard or this many hours in a job before. I come home exhausted, mentally & physically. I’ve never felt this strongly that I need to rely on God to help me succeed in my appointed mission. But that’s not necessarily a bad thing. I’m grateful for that constant nudging back towards Him and I know this is where I’m supposed to be.

Spring is also a kind of lonely time (at least here at the beginning). We left a great group of friends in Nashville. It takes time to rebuild that kind of community. I keep reminding myself that it took more than a year to start building that group of friends in Nashville and will take time here too.

I’ve intended to write more during these first 7 weeks here, but our spring has been busy and draining. I don’t necessarily feel like being on my computer when I get home from work in the evenings. Those first couple of weeks in the new job, I constantly felt exhausted. It’s getting better now and I attribute much of that to just all-around new life adjustment.

So we are embracing this new season of life.

I wrote in January that my one word to focus on for 2012 is Embrace (you can read that post here). In 2012, in this new season, I want to focus on embracing everything this new season of life brings – the obstacles, the challenges, the opportunities, the excitement. This is truly season of growth – personally, spiritually, professionally, and emotionally. I’m trying to embrace it all. Winter is now past. Spring is here. And Summer will be here before we know it.

What season of life are you in? Are you embracing it?

Leave a Comment Here

