The Difficulty with Dreaming

This is a post about dreams. My sweet friend & sister in “leap of faith” adventures, Lindsey, encouraged me to participate in this link-up. We both, around the same time, gave up our stable lives and made big moves to follow our dreams.

Three years ago I found my dream job. But, it wasn’t yet to be… It wasn’t time.

A year ago, it popped back up, and about 4 months ago I took it – working in marketing at International Justice Mission. I dreamed of making a difference, as part of this amazing organization that is helping combat violent oppression against the poor around the world. So we uprooted our comfortable lives and moved 700 miles away to start this new, great adventure.

You could say that I’m living my God-given dream. I believe this is what He created me to do. And yet, it is one of the most difficult things I’ve ever done.

I had grown quite comfortable in my last job. I had been there for almost 6 years and felt like I actually knew what I was doing! I was one of the veterans on the team and had the type of knowledge that you only acquire with time.

In following this dream, I feel like I’m starting over in so many ways. There is a steep learning curve involved. Institutional history to learn. There are high pressures. As with any non-profit, there seems to always be a lot of work to be done and never enough time, money, or resources to do it all.

I’ve never felt this challenged or stretched in a job before. There have been plenty of days where I haven’t been sure whether I’m succeeding or failing. But I do think I’m where I’m supposed to be.

I have quickly learned that in following my dream, I was never promised it was going to be easy.

When has anyone ever said that the best things in life come easily? Isn’t it always the opposite? No risk, no reward. Something like that.

We can’t expect to grow or to make a significant difference if we aren’t willing to take a leap of faith. To work hard, put ourselves out there and take a risk.

So while it can be difficult, I will continue following my dream, confident that I’m in the right place. And with hard work, determination, and a lot of prayer, I will make it.

My encouragement to anyone else who is daring to chase their dreams is to go ahead & take that leap of faith. I can’t promise it will be easy, but it will be worth it.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
~ Mark Twain

****

Join the blog link-up on Dreams.

We believe dreams are made of the same filling as hope, joy and love – the things that give us breath to run, faith to believe, and a heart to sing. When we dream, nobody imposes limitations on us, and that which can be imagined and hoped for can be so.

We’re writing about dreams this month because we believe when we share our dreams, we are dared to chase them. These dreams have inspired us, changed us, and fueled our love for life and God. They’ve moved us jobs, continents and through relationships. They remind us that everything is possible.

Check out the dreaming masterminds:

So Long Old Dreams, Hello New Ones by Lindsey Talerico-Hedren

Dream Chaser by Richenda Vermeulen

5 thoughts on “The Difficulty with Dreaming

  1. All I can do is smile in reading your post. I resonate so much with what you feel — there are days I cry because I’m sad that I’m not happy about my living my dream, and then that thought that I’m clearly someone who can’t just be content makes me more unhappy. And then I wake up the next morning with puffy eyes, yet another reason to be unhappy. And I blame it all on these silly little dreams we have… who said elephants can fly? Disney? Sheesh.

    But like you, I take an extreme amount of refuge in knowing we are exactly where we are supposed to be. And that, that is a dream come true because there are heaps of people we know who wander, lost and confused about where to go next. And we are where we want to be, lost in our emotions and confused in our surroundings… but still exactly where we need to be.

    I’m so lucky to know you. And that we share in the excitement of announcing our dreams and the hardship in living them.

    • I’m replying to this days later, but thanks friend! It is neat to have the encouragement & comraderie of someone else going through the same thing at the same time. Thanks for challenging me to write this!

  2. So get this. Every word. Proud to know you and call you a friend. Hope our paths cross soon and we can swap stories. Keep writing about it. I stopped and have missed the clarity it provided.

  3. Pingback: blog lately – v3, i4 » lindsey talerico.

Leave a Comment Here

