Did I Embrace 2012?

One Word

At the beginning of 2012 I wrote a post called “Embracing 2012“. Embrace was my one word to focus on for the year, instead of all sorts of different new year’s resolutions. 2012 was my year to embrace a new season of life, with all of the challenges, obstacles, and opportunities that would come with it. You can read that original post here.

So how did I do?

It was quite a year, full of all of those things listed above: challenges, obstacles, and opportunities. Moving to a new state, adjusting to a new lifestyle, learning a new job, finishing my MBA, being lonely & trying to slowly make friends, settling into a church, and growing immensely spiritually…

Here’s what I wrote I would try to do at the beginning of the year & some reflections on each:

  1. Embrace the obstacles we’re experiencing right now as a way to grow in our faith and put our full trust in God’s plan for us. Check & check – sort of. I could have done better on the “full trust” part, but it was definitely a season for witnessing God’s abundant faithfulness. In every obstacle we faced in getting to our new season, God took what we thought would be a good solution, pulled the carpet out from under us, and then blessed us with far more than we could have imagined – getting our house rented, finding a new place to live, finding Cason a job, etc. You can read a piece about that in my post called “He Said ‘Trust Me’“.
  2. Embrace the challenge of a new job (in a new industry) with an organization that does amazing, life-altering work. I hope I have done well here, but it hasn’t been easy. IJM is indeed an amazing organization. I am a bigger fan now than I ever was before and am blessed to be there. But it has been a stretching, challenging year. Being thrown in to the deep end & figuring out how to swim. I have learned so much and am eager to begin year 2 now with these months under my belt.
  3. Embrace the difficult times ahead that will inevitably come with all of these new challenges, again, as a means to grow us personally, professionally, emotionally, & spiritually. As stated above, there have been some challenging times, in all of these areas. More on all of that in my recent post: Catching up with the Barnes. In hindsight, I really do wish I had written more throughout it all. It looks like I managed to only get 18 posts written this entire year. I just couldn’t find the effort to get things written. Another thing to try to remedy in 2013.
  4. Embrace the opportunity to live a new adventure, to meet new people, experience new places. We’re getting there. I’ve done a fairly decent job in this area, but I’m continually surprised at how many months we’ve been here and the things that we haven’t done yet (certain DC sites, traveling to other relatively nearby cities, etc). I guess that just means there is more to in the months ahead.
  5. Embrace a new season of life and see how God will use us in it. It has been a year of much transition. God’s blessings have been abundant and His sustaining strength amazing to experience. I haven’t yet discovered my place of service outside of IJM. I spend so many hours dedicated to that work (& really do view it as a ministry also) that I really haven’t had it in me to fit something else in. Hopefully in 2013.

So here’s to 2012 – a good year full of transitions & blessings! Next week I’ll write my “one word” post for 2013.

How was your 2012?

4 thoughts on “Did I Embrace 2012?

  1. You and Cason have had an amazing year trusting God in what He can do for you. He has not let you down. You have been a big inspiration to me with your writings. I look forward to your 2013 posts!!

  2. Pingback: Grow | Karen Barnes

Leave a Comment Here

