Thinking back to our time in Haiti

One of the houses we built

One of the houses we built

Today marks the 3-year anniversary of the devastating earthquake in Haiti, and it’s been 2 and a half years since a group of us spent a week there building 2 houses. A week that changed me forever.

I am grateful for the reminder today to go back & read through the string of posts I wrote about our time there. I am sitting here on the verge of tears for so many different reasons.

It was the most consistent physically demanding week of my life. It was flat out really hard. But the people we encountered and the scenes that we saw are forever etched in my heart.

I was going to write about the people we met in Haiti, complete with pictures, but I stumbled across that exact same post that I wrote on the 1-year anniversary in 2011. Check it out here: Remembering the People We Met in Haiti.

If you want to read a quick sampling of posts from our week there, here are a few of my favorites:
We Came Back Changed
Haiti Wrecked Me
Redefining Scripture: Psalm 46

So today I reminded to pray for the country, for the aid workers who are still so diligently working, for Pastor Joseph, Fabianca, Simone, Katianne, and so many others. I can’t help but wonder how they are all doing today.

Here’s a quick blurb from my “Haiti Wrecked Me” post that I’m copying in here, mostly as a reminder to myself:

Haiti wrecked me. At least for a little while…

It has now been exactly one month since we’ve been back. I find it a struggle to keep that fervor that I had 4 weeks ago. Why is it that an experience so significant, that we felt like changed us so much, can start to slip away so easily and so soon? It scares me a bit. I don’t want it to fade. I don’t want to be coerced back to my normal patterns. I want to hold on to that feeling and the preoccupation I had with figuring out what I could do to make a difference. The knowledge that our “stuff” doesn’t matter. That there are so many people in this world hurting and in need, and that we can do something about it…

We are only given one chance here on earth. I want to make it count…

Haiti man on beach

“Everything we live through leaves some mark on us.” -Unknown

Leave a Comment Here

